Go to OCA Home
Login to your account

Types Of Ovarian Cancer

Types Of Ovarian Cancer

The ovaries are made up of 3 main kinds of cells – epithelial cells, stromal cells and germ cells. Each of these cells can develop into a different type of tumour.

Epithelial ovarian cancer

This is cancer that starts in the cells lining the surface layer (epithelium) of the ovary. It is the most common type of ovarian cancer, accounting for 9 out of 10 cases. It most often affects women over 50; the average age of diagnosis is the early 60s.

There are several subtypes of epithelial ovarian cancers, which include:

  • high-grade serous (the most common type)

  • endometrioid

  • low-grade serous

  • mucinous

  • clear cell

  • undifferentiated or unclassifiable.

Cancers related to epithelial ovarian cancer

Other cancers related to ovarian cancer – primary peritoneal and fallopian tube cancer – have similar symptoms and treatment.

Non-epithelial ovarian cancer subtypes

Resilience Kit

For up-to-date, evidence based information on all aspects of living with ovarian cancer, and where to find support, download or order a free copy of our Resilience Kit

Acknowledgement flags

Ovarian Cancer Australia acknowledges the Traditional Owners of the land where our office is located, the Wurundjeri people of the Kulin Nation and we pay our respects to Elders past and present.